A Memory of Conversations
remembering at 9:08 p.m. on 2005-01-16

He used to go over my words with a fine tooth comb. Looking to pick over the sentences, and grammar, waiting for something to strike a chord in him that I had failed to convey.
Accusatory run on sentences, poor punctuation. Last minute ends to a statement, I had edited out, but at last...decided was far too made of myself to leave out.

Even if it sat at the end of the statement, like a soiled rag.


Searching his eyes, I twisted my thumbs deeper into the holes I had torn into my sweater sleeves.
The pacing of my thoughts, carved away the threads.

(Throw it away my mother said.)


I always searched for the one chord that I might be able to strike in him. The vibration that would send his movements into an inner realization.
This is me. She knows me. Remarkable.

When,in fact- it never came.
Oh, how you enjoyed the calculations. The dissection of my laments. How you still do!

When all the while, I lay open and bleeding...willing to hold myself open for another hour...another day.

Remarkable.

Internal love is dark. Love of the murmuring voice is my empty cellar.

And all the while, I turned my ear to hear your voice.
And it was nothing more than an echo.

never wasnever will be

..... current ..... archives ..... identity ..... additionals ..... guestbook ..... notes ..... design ..... host ..... contact .....reviewed.....


Check out new Urbis.com and get critiqued!


.........If.........every memory.........was worth.........a thousand words.........