Here is to new faces....
remembering at 9:46 a.m. on 2002-12-30

There is a definate magical element to the introduction of a new person in your small little life. I am humbled all over again (happily I might add)

It's almost like falling in love all over again, platonic of course, but none the less awe inspiring.

To find someone that steps out from amongst the drone of endless faces, to claim you...and bring you into their fresh, breath of air.

CM is by all accounts devine. She isn't the standard cookie cutter, wide mouth, cover-girl, make-up whore. She isn't a consumer of ambercrombie...an easily plottable course.

Standing 5'4'' in my living room, she flashes a broad smile and pats her pants, describing them as skinned off a couch (A poorly apholstered one at that). She is not thin, but is not obese by any means, though the Army has decided to harass her to change, or put her out into the cold. Her entire face is smiling, halo'd by a drapery of forever long, nearly blonde-white hair. I am not an envious person, but her hair is akin to the portrait of 'the Birth of Venus'. Gorgeous, but naturally so. No immoral tincture here.

I find myself staring at her in embarressed adoration. Not a standard crush, but one of complete facination for another extraordinary human being. She, who is so self determined. Control of her wills and wants like I have always failed to complete. With a bat of her blue eyes, she determines what path to take, and who to take with her.

Confidence.

Something I walk through with my eyes wide shut.

She sort of finds her way to me by randomnmess. I met her twice briefly, no more than 10 minutes of conversation. She decides randomly tonight to call me. Asking for companionship as best she knows how. I embrace her with arms open and to my amazment and delight, she accepts. Of course, in the same, I am mortified.

I don't know what it is about her that makes me want to close my eyes. Dh refers to her as a delightfully bumbling idiot whose ideals he appreciates, but she is flighty none the less. But beneath that goofy smile and tomboy demeaner, she is....gorgeous.

She stays for....nearly 3 hours. I begin to open my eyes at last. Unafraid of my shortcomings any longer. She and I are staring across from each other...

Each with a canister of play-dough and a grin.

There is, just nothing like meeting another person, who is familiar at last...

no longer lost amongst the sea of faces.

A place of relief, when you are lost, in the everyday task.

a.....delightful surprise.

never wasnever will be

..... current ..... archives ..... identity ..... additionals ..... guestbook ..... notes ..... design ..... host ..... contact .....reviewed.....


Check out new Urbis.com and get critiqued!


.........If.........every memory.........was worth.........a thousand words.........