I walked this way...
remembering at 11:50 p.m. on 2005-08-01

I've paused...but only for a moment.

My fingers fumble the leaves, tarnished flesh, scalded by the cold
against vibrant autumn hues.
Yellows, reds, browns...the tiny veins that create a papery canvas, dry and crumble in my hands.
I push them into the air-- awkward confetti
And smile over my shoulder to you.

If my eyes are closed, I can see the simplicity of your shadow, just one small, brushstroke beneath my breath.

I know your voice here, the way it carries on the brittle, thinned air.
I've walked this way home, a hundred times.
Through the dank winter...the wet springs...
The way the rain no longer confines in an ocean of darkness, as my shoes grind against the gravel.
I know warmth is coming...you--
are coming.

I've walked this way home, a hundred times before.

never wasnever will be

..... current ..... archives ..... identity ..... additionals ..... guestbook ..... notes ..... design ..... host ..... contact .....reviewed.....


Check out new Urbis.com and get critiqued!


.........If.........every memory.........was worth.........a thousand words.........